go ahead. rain on my parade.

18 Jun

It’s been a stormy, rain-logged summer here in Ohio so far. I am a person who enjoys both rain and thunderstorms (as long as I have the good fortune of a solid roof above my head). Still, it can be easy to let inclement weather spoil a summer day if you were hoping to enjoy a hike or a picnic or a walk to the grocery store.

A couple weeks ago, my roommate K and I were just about to set out on a stroll to the library when the heavens unleashed a mighty downpour. Since there was no lightning, we decided to roll up our jeans, pull out our raincoats and umbrellas, and go on a walk anyway. The last time I was out in such heavy rain was about fifteen years ago, when I was living in Pakistan and monsoon season was a force to be reckoned with.

we knew it was a doozy of a storm when we saw that the gutters were overflowing

our umbrellas offered some protection

but the water was really rushing down our street

and eventually I folded up my umbrella and decided to just walk in the stream! maybe when it's hot and humid later this summer, I can remember how cool and refreshing this moment was. Memories are cheaper than a trip to a waterpark.

The forecast for this week is stormy, too. Anyone want to join me for a walk?

3 Responses to “go ahead. rain on my parade.”

  1. Julie Longacre June 22, 2011 at 9:21 PM #

    katie! i love walking in a downpour rain! now that i know this about you – i’ll be looking for the perfect opportunity to go ‘swimming’ in the rain with you sometime! but i’ll probably wait a month or two. :) LOVE YOUR NEW BLOG!!!!

    • hopingfor June 24, 2011 at 8:38 AM #

      thank you, julie! i would love to walk in the rain with you and/or some young ladies in a few months. we’ll have to rig up some kind of waterproof papoose for you.

  2. Jon L. July 17, 2011 at 6:12 AM #

    I love how fresh everything feels after a good soaking rain. Like when it washes all the street crud away.

What do you think?

