captured!

29 Jul

This is post is semi-random, to be sure, but I had to share a victory I celebrated today. After literally years of failing to capture an “Amish buggy in my rearview mirror” picture, I did it this morning! I snapped this outside Red Haw, OH just after 8 AM this morning. I was parked at a stop sign. Safety first!

VICTORY!

Please also note the new photography device featured in this image… a real digital camera instead of a cell phone cam! Many many thanks to my friends P and A for their generosity.

I’ve been trying to take a photo like this for years now. I think my friends who live in places other than rural Northeast Ohio have a hard time imagining the juxtaposition that one can encounter daily in this area. There is a buggy hitching post at the WalMart in my city. It is not uncommon for traffic to be backed up for a block or two by a slow-moving buggy. In the truly rural areas outside the city where I live, it is the rare store with a “no shirt, no shoes, no service” policy, because many Amish people do not wear shoes in the summer, and they make up a large portion of the paying customer base. I think the image of a buggy in the rearview mirror does a good job of communicating the ways that cultures can collide and fuse together.

Just for kicks I’ll throw in a couple more things I have captured recently. Fair warning, the next image MAY DISTURB YOU.

This winter, my roommate and I became aware that something small and rodenty was sharing out apartment. We never saw any trace of a mouse in our kitchen; no nibbles taken out of our bags of potatoes or boxes of Lucky Charms in the pantry. No tiny mouse turds anywhere. But there was a hole in the bag of cat food we had stored away in a cupboard connected to the wall of our house. And then I discovered a pile of cat food in my winter sweater box, which had been stored in the attic. This was very disconcerting. I did not like the idea of rodents keeping their food nestled between my cardigans. Yuck. However, because we never actually saw a mouse, and we had no desire to murder a mouse who may have simply been taking shelter from the cold Ohio winter, we decided to just move the cat food to a plastic container and hope that the mouse/mice would return to their outdoor home as spring dawned.

Well, it would appear that our mouse is a bit of  homebody. He surprised me in the bathroom just days ago, and I barely had the presence of mind to trap him under my roommate’s toothbrush cup.* He was very fast, and I can only thank the good Lord that he was small. If he was a big scary rat thing I don’t think I could have done anything but flee.

I still had no desire to murder this mouse, so I removed him or her to the great outdoors with great haste. But I did take a couple pictures first. For posterity. And to show my roommate’s cat that she should be ashamed of herself for failing to defend our apartment from the scourge of vermin.

Okay, one final “captured” thing. Today I headed to Maurer Farm Market and came away with two pecks of fragrant, beautiful peaches. They were second pickings– fruit with minor blemishes or bruises. Which meant I got them for just $6.50 per peck. since my peaches are about to become jam, pie, and peach butter, the fact that some of them looked gnarly is not an issue.

I only started learning to can and preserve at the end of last summer, so I’m really excited to “put up” more food this year. I think I’m most looking forward to combining the white peaches with some frozen sweet cherries for jam! Jam that will hopefully never be snacked on by a rodent.

Readers, do you like to eat jam? Do you like to make jam? Do you have a vermin scourge plaguing your home? Please feel free to chime in with feedback of any kind.

*Note to all concerned: I have already promised said roommate a new toothbrush cup unmarred by rodent presence.

3 Responses to “captured!”

  1. Marissa August 3, 2011 at 2:04 PM #

    That peach is deformed. But I’m sure I don’t have to tell you how delicious deformed fruit often is!

    Glad you got your shot finally. I definitely remember you wanting to capture that for quite some time now. :)

  2. Andrew August 6, 2011 at 8:17 AM #

    When Leslie and I moved into our home, there were mice. And although we evicted some and showed others the door to the other side of life,we still get the occasional visitor. It always creeps me out.

    On jam – my Grandma made the best raspberry preserves ever made with raspberries from her back yard. Very fond memory of that and other jarred foods.

    Keep writing Katie!

  3. Jon L. August 23, 2011 at 12:51 PM #

    The peach and the mouse look strangely similar!

    Have you perfected the art of making flesh-intact watermelon pie yet? ;)

What do you think?

